Yamaha 3-zone pads only triggering 2 zones

A collection of useful threads for troubleshooting issues.
Post Reply
WB00
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2023 12:49 am

Yamaha 3-zone pads only triggering 2 zones

Post by WB00 »

I have a couple Yamaha XP-80s and PCY-135s connected to the eDRUMin 8. The center zones are triggering fine (center snare and cymbal bow), but the 2 switches are both triggering the same midi note. Both the rimshot and side-stick edge zones on the XP-80 are triggering the side-stick (SS) on the software, and both the edge and bell zones of the cymbals are triggering the bell zone. I am using the XP-80 preset and the PCY-135 preset on the software. This problem is consistent across multiple pads.

Thanks in advance for the help!
User avatar
Rob
Site Admin
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: Yamaha 3-zone pads only triggering 2 zones

Post by Rob »

Hi, it's a bug that has been fixed in version 2.3.0.8, available from the downloads page.
WB00
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2023 12:49 am

Re: Yamaha 3-zone pads only triggering 2 zones

Post by WB00 »

Thank you for the quick response Rob! This issue is persisting after verifying that I was running version 2.3.0.8 as well as reinstalling the software. I updated to the newest version 2.3.0.9 today and am still having the issue. The system I am running on is an older MacBook Pro with macOS Big Sur Version 11.7.9. I have also attached screenshots of the eDRUMin settings for the snare and cymbal.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2023-09-26 at 8.49.02 PM.png
Screen Shot 2023-09-26 at 8.49.02 PM.png (962.99 KiB) Viewed 3818 times
Screen Shot 2023-09-26 at 8.47.53 PM.png
Screen Shot 2023-09-26 at 8.47.53 PM.png (948.18 KiB) Viewed 3818 times
User avatar
Rob
Site Admin
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: Yamaha 3-zone pads only triggering 2 zones

Post by Rob »

Click that icon next to the orange exclamation mark on the bottom left hand side of the UI.
WB00
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2023 12:49 am

Re: Yamaha 3-zone pads only triggering 2 zones

Post by WB00 »

Well, it looks like I had updated the software but not the unit itself! Clicked on the icon and updated the unit and now everything is working great! Thanks Rob!
valrus
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2024 1:56 am

Re: Yamaha 3-zone pads only triggering 2 zones

Post by valrus »

I'm having what appears to be almost this same problem with a Yamaha TP100, except that the switches are triggering the RS rather than SS note. I'm on firmware 2.3.1.16 and have no indication that there's a firmware update available.

This seems new. I recall that previous firmware versions worked correctly with all 3 zones for me.
User avatar
Rob
Site Admin
Posts: 4469
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: Yamaha 3-zone pads only triggering 2 zones

Post by Rob »

I'll test tomorrow. What eDRUMin are you using?
valrus
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2024 1:56 am

Re: Yamaha 3-zone pads only triggering 2 zones

Post by valrus »

It's an eDRUMin 4 Revision 2.
Post Reply