Plugin Version

Tips and tricks to show how to get the most out of your MIDI Expression.
Post Reply
User avatar
Rob
Site Admin
Posts: 4447
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:04 pm

Plugin Version

Post by Rob »

Use the plugin version to load custom configurations for all your MIDI Expression devices along with your projects on your DAW.
Satri
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Version

Post by Satri »

Hi Rob,

I'm still in love with what the MIDI Expression iO allows me to do -- great hardware and software :-) The current manual says very little about the Plugin Mode.

Hopefully I found this video where you explain that it can be used as a VST and a Audio Unit, is that right? I have an iPad app that supports Audio Units, should I be able to load the MIDI Expression configuration software in this iPad app? If yes, how can that be done for the MIDI Expression iO (I never used VSTs or AUs before)? I sure hope that's the case as it would entirely alleviate the need of a computer to configure the MIDI Expression iO!

Thanks for the feedback Rob -- Alex / Satri
Synth soloist & Moog official beta tester || Maintainer of Animoog.org || My music on animoog.org/satri || ROLI Seaboard RISE, Roland RD-300SX & Theremini
User avatar
Rob
Site Admin
Posts: 4447
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: Plugin Version

Post by Rob »

Due to Apple API restrictions for iOS, it won't work, unfortunately.

I do have an alpha non-plugin version that works with iOS, however. It's still rough around the edges, so don't expect to see it too soon.

Regards,
Rob
User avatar
Rob
Site Admin
Posts: 4447
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: Plugin Version

Post by Rob »

joshebosh
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 9:59 pm

Re: Plugin Version

Post by joshebosh »

Hey Rob, I've switched over to a Macbook, but I'm having trouble finding the VST/Plugin for ME...
I was able to get VST/Plugin working when in Windows, but where is the (*.vst) file once software is installed in Mac?
Thanks
User avatar
Rob
Site Admin
Posts: 4447
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: Plugin Version

Post by Rob »

What host application are you using and are you using an Apple silicon mac?
joshebosh
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 9:59 pm

Re: Plugin Version

Post by joshebosh »

i should've mentioned that to start with.... FL Studio
joshebosh
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu May 13, 2021 9:59 pm

Re: Plugin Version

Post by joshebosh »

i dont know what apple silicon is, but i dont think so?
2.5 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7
User avatar
Rob
Site Admin
Posts: 4447
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2009 2:04 pm

Re: Plugin Version

Post by Rob »

Double checked and it's still working over here. You may need to reboot after installing.
Post Reply