How does this splitter work? Can one be made for edrumin?

Building your own? Need help with your designs? You've come to the right place.
kevinbeckman1983

How does this splitter work? Can one be made for edrumin?

Post by kevinbeckman1983 »

https://youtu.be/L3Jvu_E682o?si=F3VZgD65ioHzvshk
"The BEST splitter for your E Drums"

So... What now? At 0:30 and 4:38, this splitter gives choke on one cymbal still? I thought no splits could maintain choke for either/any cymbal?

Also he's going on about Roland modules needing a resistor in splits...why? And all that stuff about regular splitters not allowing simultaneous hits... That's not something that matters to the edrumin is it, or would resistors somewhere in the splitter still help somehow?

I can solder, and have even made a zourman style cable for running a lemon 3 zone ride on one edrumin input - but I barely understand what any of these things are really doing. I'm new to e drums, but I have built diy guitar pedal kits ands loads of cables, but only with good instructions not great understanding.

Is this splitter in the video something that anyone understands/knows how to make?

Beyond this splitter, are there any other ways with the control app and or vst, to mess with midi choke assignments, to potentially choke some split cymbals, by say, physically choking an entirely different cymbal that is plugged in to an input via trs? Maybe changing the chokes to midi note, and changing the midi note for choke on the other split cymbals to the same midi note for choking them all at the same time too? Creating a master choke for other same midi choke note cymbals?

Again, I barely know what I'm talking about here with most stuff. Sorry if this is asked and answered somewhere.
MisterE

Re: How does this splitter work? Can one be made for edrumin?

Post by MisterE »

kevinbeckman1983 wrote:
Sun Feb 25, 2024 2:37 pm
https://youtu.be/L3Jvu_E682o?si=F3VZgD65ioHzvshk
"The BEST splitter for your E Drums"